13w2d Baby Body Update

It just occurred to me last night that I really need to start documenting some of the major body changes that’s happening during my pregnancy, since it seems like these days, my body can hardly keep up with the baby.

So here are this week’s baby body stats:

*How far along: 14 weeks.  Finally in my second trimester!

*Weight: 119 pounds.  Um, that’s right.  I’ve gained 11 pounds in the past three months.

*How I’m feeling:  The appendicitis scare on Friday took a lot out of me.  I’ve been completely comatose this weekend and been trying to sneak in zzz’s whenever possible.

*CravingsI’m usually more of a salty than sweet person (ain’t that the truth), but I’ve been craving a lot of Haagen Dazs ice cream lately – specifically, Haagen Dazs chocolate chip cookie dough.  J has been sent on several ice cream runs this week.

*Emotions:  Up and down, usually not both in the same day, thank goodness.  Earlier this week I was pretty chipper, but somewhere in the middle of the week the Mr. Hyde in my surfaced and I’ve been feeling consistently…annoyed.  Poor J.  Poor me.

*Sleep:  Not spectacular.  I’m still waking up at least 4 times a night to hit the bathroom.  I’m really hoping this small bladder issue gets better soon, because I’m tired of rolling (literally) out of bed every two hours.  Even though I’m no longer extremely fatigued during the day as I was a few weeks ago, I am still tired because of all the nighttime potty interruptions.

*Belly thoughts:  I really think my belly “popped” out overnight this week.  I woke up one day and all of the sudden I can definitely see and feel a permanent roundness in my belly that hadn’t been consistently there before.  A more accurate indicator is that I can no longer zip up any of my pre-baby pants – even the ones that used to have some extra room in them.

*Dreams:  I’ve heard that pregnant women can experience vivid dreams, and it’s totally true.  Maybe it’s because I’m waking up more frequently at night, but I definitely remember more dreams now than ever before.  I don’t know what this says about my mental sanity, but my dreams are often unpleasant.  Last night I had a horrible dream that Henry broke away from his leash and jumped over the side of a three story parking lot after a squirrel and I couldn’t get to him in time.  I woke up in tears.  *shudder*

*Thought of the week:  If we have a girl (which I don’t think we will), I really, really hope she doesn’t inherit J’s big nose 😦 Oink.

*Special Moments:  It was my 31st birthday on Monday, and my sweet husband surprised me with a bouquet of roses and a beautiful rose gold ring, and took me out to dinner.  It’s also our little personal tradition to hand write each other a card on our birthdays, and this year, his card made me cry.  Baby Z, I can’t wait to read his special note to us when you are older.

Leave a Reply

