16w0d Sleep now, or forever hold your peace…


Your baby’s the size of an onion!

Your baby’s skeleton is changing from soft cartilage to bone, and the umbilical cord — her lifeline to the placenta — is growing stronger and thicker. Your baby weighs 5 ounces now, and she’s around 5 inches long from head to bottom. She can move her joints, and her sweat glands are starting to develop.  She’s also growing a stronger, thicker umbilical cord.

(Source: Baby Center and The Bump)

Ok, I’ll admit that I’m back-posting a little ;p  Today is actually Monday (not Friday), and we find out Baby Z’s gender in T minus 4 hours!  More on that later today!

I’ve been remiss in posting the past few days because J and I had an extremely busy weekend – we attended a wedding on Saturday (at 11am – who gets married that early?!  Everyone knows that you should hold your wedding in the evening so that you and your guests have some time to booze it up before stumbling, I mean, strolling into the church).

And on Sunday, J and I went on a much-needed, long-overdue, mattress hunt.  A little back story:  The bed that J and I currently sleep on is over 10 years old.  J bought this bed when he first graduated from college, and he lurrrrves it like a second mistress (the first mistress being ESPN).  The age of the mattress doesn’t bother me so much as the gigantic crater that’s in the center.  J and I (and Henry) each start off on the edge each night, but inevitably find ourselves in a doggy pile (literally) in the middle a few hours later.

Also, these days, I just can’t seem to get comfortable in our mattress, and I’m convinced that it’s the source of all my backaches.  I’ve always been a back-sleeper, but with my growing belly, I’ve been trying to learn how to sleep on my side so that I don’t put all the pressure on my back.  So far, I’ve been horrendously unsuccessful.  I start off on my side, but always end up on my back – which then leads to my back hurting, me complaining, J having to rub out the kinks, and me cursing our bed each night.  (Because obviously, I can’t curse at the baby.)

In any case, after weeks of hearing me nag and complain, J finally caved and went mattress shopping with me on Sunday.  Let’s put it this way – we started off at Sleepy’s, but almost ended at divorce court.  Mattress shopping is muy stressful.

Inner spring or memory foam? Topper or no topper?  Firm or soft?  Extra firm or medium?  Simmons or Tempur-pedic?  Queen or King?  King or California King?

It’s a good thing that Goldilocks didn’t wander into Sleepy’s.

Note to furniture salesmen:  STOP trying to reel in customers by saying stuff such as, “You’re in luck.  Today is the last day of our special sales promotion.” and “Let me call the mattress distributor to see if I can get you a special manufacturer’s discount.”  You’re really not fooling anyone.

To make a long story short, two stores, hours of internet research, and dozens of mattresses later, we finally did pull the trigger on a king-sized, medium-firm memory foam mattress with a ten year warranty and a 90 day return policy with no restocking fee charges.  It arrives within the next week or so.  I can’t wait!  I also can’t wait to see Henry’s face when he steps (and sinks) into the memory foam for the first time…hehe.

Leave a Reply

