16w4d It’s a….

BOY!!!

J and I are thrilled to announce that come February 1, 2013, we’ll have a little boy to hold and to love!  I hate to say I told you so…

BUT MOMMY KNOWS BEST!  I’ve always had a feeling that I’m harboring a little boy in here…

To be honest, both J and I are still in a bit of a daze.  When the technician first told us that Baby Z is a boy, both of us just kept looking at each other and muttering, “I can’t believe we’re having a boy” over and over again in shock, as though we were expecting Baby Z to be a panda or something.

Of course, J said that he knew that Baby Z was a boy as soon as the ultrasound came up (before the technician even said anything), because,  you know, Baby Z’s boy part is just sooo huge and all.  *Roll eyes*

The most important news to us was that Baby Boy Z is looking very healthy!  We did a thorough anatomy scan, and our little boy is currently 6 inches tall, weighs 5 ounces, and possesses all his body parts (10 toes, 10 fingers, 2 kidneys, 2 eyes, 1 nose, 1 heart, 1 umbilical cord and a partridge in a pear tree).  His heart is beating steadily at 150 bpm, and his limbs, brain, face, and internal organs all look great!  In fact, while the technician was doing the anatomy scan, our little boy kept waving his little hands at us as if to say, “Hi Mom and Dad!”  He also kept rubbing his eyes and wiggling his toes.  We love him so much already!

The amniocentesis was also not as bad as I had feared.  We first met with a genetic counselor to go through some of the risks and benefits of the procedure, as well as looked at various cases of possible chromosomal abnormalities beyond Down Syndrome.  Our doctor who performed the procedure was very matter-of-fact, which I actually very much appreciate.  I’m not a big fan of doctors who “ooo” and “ahhh” or coddle you too much.  I prefer ones that are efficient, competent and offer you tough love instead.  In fact, that’s also why I like my OB so much – she’s a no-nonsense type who is smart, capable and a straight-shooter.  When it comes to delivery, I already know that I’m going to be such a freaking hot mess that I need someone who will tell me to snap out of it and just get it done.  Haha.

Anyway, setting up for the amino took way longer than the actual procedure, which lasted all of 1 minute.  Even though I’m the biggest baby in the world when it comes to needles, the sting of the amnio needle was surprisingly not too bad.  I did feel some pressure when the doctor started extracting the amniotic fluid, but overall, it was definitely not as horrible of an ordeal as I had feared.

Now I’m a little anxious about the results, but I’m hoping and praying that everything will continue looking great.  Plus I’m really looking forward to getting a chart of our son’s genes and chromosomes.  We saw samples in our genetic counselor’s office, and J and I both thought that they looked so cool.  We may frame Baby Z’s chart (assuming all goes well…oy).

We go in for a second anatomy scan in four weeks, when we can see Baby Z in 3D!

In the meantime, here are a couple of pictures of our perfect boy and his tiny feet 🙂

3 responses

Leave a Reply

