20w6d Babies are scary to have AND to hold

Up to now, my thoughts regarding Baby Z have revolved around two main topics:

1. How much delivery is going to hurt.  (OMG OMG OMG.)

2. Putting together our baby registry (and making sure that we have everything that we need come D-DAY).

I’ve given no thoughts whatsoever to actually taking care of Baby Z until this week, when I visited my friend Sarah at the hospital and held a newborn for the first time (that I can recall in the past five years).

And man…babies are SMALL.  And fragile!  And scary!

My friend’s baby boy weighed 7 lbs and 7 ounces, which I’ve read is an average weight for infants these days.  Prior to holding him, 7 lbs and 7 ounces seems like…a good chunk of meat.  Well, that may true for pork chops, but it’s totally not for babies!  I was surprised by how utterly little and light he was…and how fragile!  His head was still soft because his skull bones haven’t grown together and his neck muscles were still too weak to support his head.  It was basically like holding eight pounds of Play-Doh in my arms.

Which brings me to my point of…how can I possibly be trusted to bring one of these home in a few months without, I dunno, parental supervision or something?!   I’m one of the clumsiest people I know!  Sometimes I trip over absolutely nothing, and I’ve blindly walked into more door screens than I care to admit.  Permanently being responsible for a small, helpless, fragile infant seems…overwhelming.

Anyone want to take Baby Z and give him back to me when he’s able to protect himself from his mama?

 

 

One response

Leave a Reply

