21w0d It doesn’t get any better – does it?

Your baby’s the size of a papaya!  

At 11 inches (the length of a papaya) and almost 1 pound, your baby is starting to look like a miniature newborn. His lips, eyelids, and eyebrows are becoming more distinct, and he’s even developing tiny tooth buds beneath his gums. His eyes have formed, but his irises (the colored part of the eye) still lack pigment. 

 If you could see inside your womb, you’d be able to spot the fine hair (lanugo) that covers his body and the deep wrinkles on his skin, which he’ll sport until he adds a padding of fat to fill them in. Inside his belly, his pancreas — essential for the production of some important hormones — is developing steadily.

(Source: The Bump and Baby Center)

I know I say this every week, but my belly is growing exponentially – as are Baby Z’s kicks!  I can feel him constantly wiggling in there now, although I still can’t tell the difference between a punch, a kick, a head nudge or a butt bump :/  I’ve also been offered a seat by someone every single day on the subway this week.  I must really be showing.  At first, I was a little hesitant to take people up on their offer because I felt guilty taking their seats when I felt perfectly fine standing, but I got over that guilt fast!  It’s probably the only time in my life that the good people of Manhattan will give up their hard won subway seats during rush hour (trust me, I was one of them), so I may as well enjoy it while it lasts.   Plus as the week progressed, I started to discover a new ache in my lower back – and I think my feet are also getting bigger!!  Ack!  No joke, I’m typically somewhere between a 7 and a 7.5 in shoe size (7 is are usually a tad small and 7.5 is a tad too big), and I’m finding that even my 7.5 shoes are fitting me tightly.

I just looked this up, and OMG there’s a chance that I will permanently have bigger feet when this is all done.

According to this Baby Center article:

The aptly named pregnancy hormone relaxin, which loosens the joints around your pelvis so your baby can make his way down the birth canal, also loosens the ligaments in your feet, causing the foot bones to spread. You may notice your shoes getting a little tight as early as the second trimester, and they may continue to increase in size until late in pregnancy. While the foot swelling generally subsides within a month after delivery, any foot spreading caused by looser ligaments is permanent. 

NOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo.  For once, JUST ONCE, I would like to hear something POSITIVE about pregnancy (other than Baby Z, I know, I know!).  All I have to say is that if Baby Z is the only pot of gold at the end of this whole stinking pregnancy rainbow…is it too late to return him for a refund?

(Just kidding honey, Mommy loves you.  Sort of.)

I will try to get photos up of my expanding belly (and possibly feet now too) soon, but in the meantime, check out this great time lapse pregnancy video!  There’s a lot of these videos out there, but this is definitely one of better ones that I’ve seen!

Leave a Reply

