23w6d Prenatal Appointment (24 weeks)

Baby Z and I had our first prenatal appointment sans Daddy Z this week 😦  J couldn’t make it because he had a doctor’s appointment of his own.  Boo.

All is well, though. Baby Z’s heartbeat is steady at 140 bpm, and he even showed off a little for our doctor by kicking (visibly) during our visit.  I’m beginning to notice that Baby Z starts kicking up a fuss whenever I sit or lie down for prolonged periods of time – his way of telling me that I’m boring him!  Which is probably just as well, because I used to sit all day at my desk without ever getting up for a stretch or walk – now I’m reminded every half hour or so to get up and take a short stroll (usually to the bathroom).  Baby Z is already watching out for my health 🙂

Our OB also gave me a glucose drink for my next visit in one month.  I didn’t know this, but apparently between 24 and 28 weeks of pregnancy, many doctors check for gestational diabetes, a high blood sugar condition that some women get during pregnancy.  According to Baby Center, between 2 and 5 percent of expectant mothers develop gestational diabetes, making it one of the most common health problems during pregnancy. And because the condition rarely causes any symptoms, testing is the only way to find out whether you have it.

So in a few weeks, I’ll have to fast for 14 hours and chug this bad boy one hour before the test.  When I arrive for the test, the technician will take a blood sample to measure my fasting blood glucose level.  Fun stuff.

It’s a good thing that I scheduled my next OB visit/glucose test for first thing in the morning!  These days, I’m not sure if I can fast for 14 minutes, much less 14 hours.

And hopefully this drink tastes better than it looks.

Leave a Reply

