26w0d She had dumps like a truck truck truck

Your baby’s the size of a rutabaga!

This week, your baby weighs almost 2 pounds and is about 14 1/2 inches long with his legs extended. He’s sleeping and waking at regular intervals, opening and closing his eyes, and perhaps even sucking his fingers. With more brain tissue developing, your baby’s brain is very active now. While his lungs are still immature, they would be capable of functioning — with a lot of medical help — if he were to be born now. Chalk up any tiny rhythmic movements you may be feeling to a case of baby hiccups, which may be common from now on. Each episode usually lasts only a few moments, and they don’t bother him, so just relax and enjoy the tickle.

The second trimester is drawing to a close, but as your body gears up for the final lap, you may start noticing some new symptoms. Along with an aching back, for example, you may find that your leg muscles cramp up now and then. They’re carrying extra weight, after all, and your expanding uterus is putting pressure on the veins that return blood from your legs to your heart as well as on the nerves leading from your trunk to your legs.

Unfortunately, the cramps may get worse as your pregnancy progresses. Leg cramps are more common at night but can also happen during the day. When a cramp strikes, stretching the calf muscle should give you some relief. 

(Source: The Bump and Baby Center)

This week’s baby description of the 27th week of pregnancy (above) rings particularly true for me.  (Not the rutabaga part – before today, I thought rutabaga referred to an exotic tropical island in the Caribbean.  What is a rutabaga?  Is it a vegetable?  A fruit?  An onion?  A paintball?)

The past couple of weeks have definitely brought new ACHES IN MY BACK and CRAMPS IN MY LEGS.

These days, I can’t get out of bed, sit on the couch, walk to the bathroom, take Henry for a stroll – basically any and all activities involving movement – without feeling a constant, dull ache in my lower back and a cramping, vise-like pressure in my lower calves.    It sucks.

I’ve started doing some prenatal yoga and making J rub out the worst of the kinks each night, both of which bring temporary relief, but an hour later I’d start feeling the aches and pains again.  I feel like I’m freaking a hundred and 31-years-old.

Unrelated, or possibly related, I’m also starting to feel a weird pressure in my lady parts, different from what it feels like when  you have to pee…more like the baby is trying to push all my insides out.  I picture Baby Z doing the YMCA in my belly, but rather than saying that it’s fun to stay at the YMCA, he’s screaming, “I HATE IT IN HERE.  GIMMEE MOAR ROOM MOM.”

It’s just awesome.

All this in addition to the general discomfort of being the size of a dump truck, and I wish I can put on an e-collar and join my handicapped dog in his crate with a bucket of Haagen Dazs until I’m ready to face the world again.

TGIF.

(Buddy, hang in there.  This is how Mommy feels too.)

Leave a Reply

